Introduction

        

Southern Soaring League (SSL) is a club with a long history of gliding and welcomes new gliders and anyone who wishes to learn to fly park flyers and electric sport aircraft.

SSL was formed in 1973. For most of its life, the club has had around 80 members. There are three members of more than 25 years standing and many more with 20 and 15 year badges. This strong core is at the heart of the club.

The club has 2 main flying sites. South Parklands on the southern fringe of the city is probably one of the most central flying sites in the world. Smaller glider competitions are regularly run on the grounds of Pulteney Grammar School and there are a large group of fun and sport flyers that use Park 21. These are the best places for a beginner to come along, especially on Sunday mornings.

Our other main site is SSL Park at Milang about 40 minutes south of Adelaide. This site has been the arena for some exciting F3J and F3B National competitions and is the launching place for Australian Representatives in International competitions.

Current weather

Adelaide-Australia

Clear sky
  • Clear sky
  • Temperature: 10 °C
  • Wind: Calm
  • Pressure: 1019 hPa
  • Rel. Humidity: 82 %
  • Visibility: 10 km
  • Sunrise: 07:45
  • Sunset: 18:43
Reported on:
Fri, 04/25/2014 - 00:30

Who's online

There are currently 0 users and 0 guests online.

Past Events

NEFR Tue, 22nd Apr, 2014
Indoor Fri, 18th Apr, 2014
2m Challenge Mon, 14th Apr, 2014
Club Meeting Wed, 9th Apr, 2014
Radian Mon, 7th Apr, 2014
XITON Mon, 31st Mar, 2014
Scale Aerotow Mon, 24th Mar, 2014
Indoor Fri, 21st Mar, 2014
F5J Mon, 17th Mar, 2014
Club Meeting Wed, 12th Mar, 2014
2014 F3J MILANG Sun, 9th Mar, 2014
Scale Aerotow Mon, 3rd Mar, 2014
Open Thermal / F3J Mon, 24th Feb, 2014

Recent comments

44 weeks 2 days ago - John Blanchard
3 years 28 weeks ago - Rick Ivett
3 years 38 weeks ago - Greg White
3 years 38 weeks ago - David Malandain
3 years 38 weeks ago - David Malandain